Challenge: Who Are You?

It’s a new year, and that means new goals, new experiences, and new friends. And it’s new friends I want to take a moment for today. Actually it’s just friends, old or young, that I want to dedicate this post to. I just needed an excuse to do it and talking about the new year and new friends seemed like a good reason. πŸ˜€

This post is simple. I only have one question.

Who are all you people?!Β  I mean, you comment on my blog and read my stuff–but who are you?

I spend a lot of time talking about me, so I’d like to give you all a chance to tell me a little about yourselves. I’ve been blogging for a year now, and while I know some of you pretty well, there are a lot of you I don’t know.

I’m going to remedy that right now! After all, what’s my blog without all of you?

I came up with 10 questions scientifically proven to determine who you are. Ok, so the one about which Hogwarts house you’d be in isn’t scientific. Neither is the one about your zodiac sign. Alright, just forget about the scientific part. These are just some questions I thought would be fun to answer. And who knows, you may learn something about yourself.

Since I can’t ask you to do something I wouldn’t do myself, here are my answers.Β  (You can scroll down to “List of Questions” if you don’t want to read my answers, but of courseΒ you wouldn’t want toΒ miss my clever answers would you.Β πŸ˜‰ )

Oh, and heads-up–some of the questions have a link to a quiz.Β  You don’t have to take the quizzes if you don’t want to.Β  They’re just there because I’m addicted to personality quizzes. πŸ™‚

My Answers

What is yourΒ Myers Briggs personality type?

If you’ve never taken the Myers Briggs personality quiz, you’re missing out.Β  I was shocked at how well it described me.Β  Suddenly, everything I did made sense.Β  You can take it here.

I am an INFJ. Making up about 2-3% of the population, it is the rarest of all the 16 types. I knew I was special.

(Not that kind of special. πŸ˜‰ )

The site describes INFJs as “Quiet and mystical, yet very inspiring and tireless idealists.”

My personality type is a unique combination of traits: though soft-spoken, we have very strong opinions and will fight tirelessly for an idea we believe in. We are decisive and strong-willed, but rarely use that energy for personal gain. Instead we use our passion to fight for something we believe in, and because INFJs have a strong sense of compassion, it is usually something that will help others.

(So yeah, don’t mess with those hobbits or me and my army of INFJs will come after you…Oh yeah, forget about what I just said about only 2% of people being INFJ…there are gagillions of us!!!)

If INFJs believe that something is important, they pursue that goal with a conviction and energy that can catch even these close to them off guard.

The down-side to all this passionate energy and conviction is that we easily burn out because we get so caught up in pursuing our goal that we forget to take care of ourselves.

 

What is yourΒ zodiac sign?

Aries

I never thought that my zodiac sign described me until I found out that I was an INFJ. Aries are always described as competitive, headstrong and difficult to get along with, which doesn’t sound like me at all.Β Β I like to make people happy and generally want to avoid arguments and conflict.

But once I read about INFJs, it made more sense. I don’t use my passion to compete with others or get into arguments. I use them to stand up for others and for what I believe in.

The zodiac sign of Aries represents new beginnings, youth and exuberant energy, which meansΒ we are full of spirit and high energy.Β We are warm and endearing individuals who go for their goals and give 100% of yourself in doing so.

Aries isΒ under theΒ fire element and the element of fire is associated with creativity, emotion,Β and passion.

 

What does your name mean?

It seems like my name is just like my personality: full of contradictions.Β  “Megan” originates from different places.Β  The Welsh, Gaelic, and Irish meaning of my name means “gentle”Β  but the Greek version means “strong.”

I thinkΒ the first meaning goes perfectly with my INFJ personality (empathetic and kind), while the second meaning goes with my fiery zodiac sign.Β  Good call mom!Β πŸ˜‰ How did you know I’d have such a weird personality?

I think the most commonly used meaning is “little pearl.”Β  I like that one best.

 

What Hogwarts house would you be in?

Hogwarts houses. As much as I love gryffindor, I honestly feel like I'd be in slytherin!

Every time I take a different quiz, I get a different answer.Β  I either get Gryffindor orΒ RavenclawΒ and I’ve even gotten Hufflepuff before.Β  Well, I found this great quiz that lets you see how much of each Hogwarts house is in you.Β  Let’s face it.Β  No one is allΒ Hufflepuff niceΒ without even a tiny drop of sneaky Slytherin in them.

So, here are my results from the quiz.

Gryffindor – 12
Ravenclaw – 12
Hufflepuff – 11
Slytherin – 8

No wonder I kept getting different answers!

If the sorting hat had to sort me, he would probably let me chose between Griffendor, Ravenclaw, andΒ Hufflepuff .Β  So, yay!Β  I get a choice…but oh crap…can’t I just be part of all of them? I mean, how can you chose?

(That settles it.Β  If TomΒ Hiddleston can’t choose, I won’t either.Β  I am now I member of all three houses.)

 

What are your learning styles?Β Β (If you don’t know your learning style, you can take this quiz.)

Everyone has a certain way that theyΒ learn best.Β  Some like to hear it explained to them, some like to see it done, some like to read about it, and some like to just do it.Β  Β I fall under the last two categories. I’m aΒ  read/write learner which means I like to…well read and write about stuff to learn it.Β  That’s not a big surprise.Β  I wouldn’t be blogging if I didn’t like to write, and you can’t like writing without a love of reading.

I’m also a kinesthetic learner, which is just a fancy way of saying I like to be able to do things.Β  Enough talking about it and reading about it.Β  Let’s just do it!

54896193

(This is a beautiful picture of me demonstrating my kinesthetic learning style.)

 

Are you more of a left-brain or a right brain kind of person? (If you don’t know take the quiz here)

 

My results:

right-brain 59%

left-brain 41%

So I use both pretty evenly, but my right-brain is just a bit more dominant.Β  This would explain why I feel like I’m constantly at war with myself.Β  Part of me loves to make lists and stick to schedules and the other part is like, “Schedule? What’s a schedule?Β  Let’s be free and spend all day writing and eating cookies!”

 

What is your blood type?Β 

(Read about your blood type)

Ok, so this one seems weird, but let me explain.Β  In Japanese culture, it is thought that blood type may have some influence on personality.Β  I’m kind of doing this as an experiment to see how many of you think your blood type’s description sounds like you.Β  So thanks for being aΒ participant inΒ my mad scientist experiment.

My blood type is O.Β  Here is some stuff that describes this blood type.

  • Are usually the “cheerleader” of the group
  • Tend to be more followers than leaders, accepting whatever the plan is and going alone with it without protest
  • Very generous and kindhearted
  • Generally well-liked by most people
  • Very flexible, and adapt easily to change

This sounds like me. In most situations, I’m perfectly fine with letting others lead.Β  I just kind of go with the flow and try to keep things peaceful.Β  Although, every now and then that fiery Aries side comes out and then it’s war.

(Like Mulan, I only fight to defend someone who can’t fight for themselvesΒ like she did for her father)

 

 

What career are you meant to be in?Β Β 

Ok, I know I told you that you didn’t have to take the quizes, but I lied.Β Β Β ItΒ takes 6 seconds and it’s fun. I promise.Β  (Can you really trust the promises of someone who just lied…? Don’t think about that.)
Β My result:
Writer
You have a skill for language, your imagination is vast and you are artistic and creative. Your brain is just overflowing with ideas, and all you have to do is get a piece of paper and share it with the world. You were born to turn words into magical stories
Can’t argue with that! πŸ™‚

 

Which divergent fraction do you belong in?Β Β 

I gotΒ Divergent.

You

You deviate from the norm. The aptitude test is inconclusive. It cannot determine just one faction for you, Divergent. Your mind is ceaselessly changing. You’re creative, with a strong sense of self, and you have a clear picture of who you are and what you want. You stand out from the crowd. You may pose a threat to the norms of society, but you are unwilling to give into them.

 

What is your birth order?

AsΒ the oldest of three kids, I was looked at as a “little adult” and given more responsibilities than my younger siblings.Β  This taught me to be diligent andΒ to workΒ hard, which is great.Β  But…Β Parents can be a lot harder and expect more of their first child which can turn them into a bit of a perfectionist.

Some of the things oldest tend to be:

  • People pleasers
  • Natural leaders
  • High achievers
  • Conformist
  • May be bossy or a know-it-all
  • Are often very organized and prompt
  • May be overachievers
  • They may behave in a very authoritarian manner, especially towards younger siblings
  • May seek attention – in both positive and negative ways
  • Often controlling
  • May become compliant and nurturing

I underlined the ones that strongly describe me.

Read about your birth orderΒ (Note: you may not share personality traits with your birth order depending on how many years are between you and older or younger siblings. If you aren’t anything like the list suggests, take this birth order quiz)

 

Whew!Β  Did you really just read all that?!Β  Well, now’s the fun part.Β  You get to tell me about yourself, and who doesn’t like talking about themselves? πŸ˜‰

How do you answer these questions?

You can either put your answers in a comment or put them in a blog post like I didΒ and put the link in the comments.

I’m going toΒ challenge some people just to get things going, but anyone can join.

I challenge:

Melinda Kucsera

Jazzy Belle

Hannah

clcouch123

moonstonemaiden

oneta hayes

sabrinawolfheart

thatnerdyartaddict

R. Sativus

Nirvana

viktoryarch

kaleiyah-p

Jes2G

ultimatelibrophile

Kristina Van Hoose

Kate Loveton

I can’t wait to read your posts!Β  Remember, this is open to EVERYONE not just the nominees.Β  So, get off my blog already and get to writing!

There I go being an eldest and letting my bossy side show…

While I’m being bossy, here are the rules.

  1. Answer the questions listed below.
  2. Leave a link to your post in the commentsΒ so I canΒ read about how fabulous you are.Β  I’ll also make sure to leave a comment.Β  (What?Β  I can’t miss the opportunity to let my opinion be known.Β  I am an oldest AND an Aries.Β  Dang…don’t mess with me. Just kidding. I’ll be nice. *angelic smile*)
  3. Have fun!

And so you don’t have to go back through the entire post, hereΒ is the…

List of Questions

What is yourΒ Myers Briggs personality type?

What is yourΒ zodiac sign?

What Hogwarts house would you be in?

What are your learning styles?

Are you more of a left-brain or a right brain kind of person?

What is your blood type?

What career are you meant to be in?

Which divergent fraction do you belong in?

What is your birth order?

If you accept this challenge, you can use this old-school chalkboard in your post.Β  (You don’t have to if you are allergic to chalk dust.)

Chalk drawing - Who are you


If you can relate to any of my answers, (say you’re also an Aries or if your perfect job is being a writer, or…well, you get it)Β  then let me know in the comments.Β  Come on army of INFJs, show your support!Β  Let me hear it from the INFJs!

Oh, ok.Β  I guess one person can make an army…. Let’s hear it for an army of one!

52 thoughts on “Challenge: Who Are You?”

  1. Megan, I’m in, but I like quizzes so it will take a bit of time to use them in the most efficient way. That means, whatever the results I have to modify and rationalize until I get the answer I want. Like you had to do when you came up with “writer.” Okay, I give in; you are a writer. But you are a writer who delights readers. Wasn’t there a category for that? 1. Dull, nobody reads 2. foul mouth, not for all audiences 3. long winded, not worth the time 4. Entertaining, worth your time (Hey, Megan fits Writer Number Four!)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Take as long as you need, and don’t feel like you have to be as long-winded with your answers as I was (unless you want to of course). πŸ™‚ I love quizzes too! I can really waste a lot of time taking silly personality quizzes. I think that’s the real reason I wrote this post…to justify spending hours finding just the right quizzes, but don’t tell anyone. πŸ˜‰
      Haha! I’m glad you think I’m worthy of category number four!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a friend who is an ENFP. She’s such an amazing person…super fun and energetic…kind and empathetic…always including others. ENFP is a great one to be! I read something once that said the INFJ and ENFP personality works really well together. They’re like soul mates or if you want to use Anne of Green Gables words, bosom friends.
      Awesome! You’re good at both worlds; left and right brain. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, that was interesting. The Myers-Briggs test was a little too close for comfort in its description of me, and I don’t know if I’ve actually gotten this result before? It’s been a long time since I took it. It rated me as INFP. I haven’t seen one that explains it all so well. The relationship part was a bit off, but the rest is pretty accurate.

    “First and foremost is seemingly every INFPs’ dream growing up – to become an author. While a novel is a classic choice, it is rarely an accessible one, and there are many viable options for freedom-loving INFPs. The internet brings to the world the opportunities of blogging and freelance work ”

    LOL.

    I’m also rare in that we make up on 4% of the population.

    I will come back and answer some of the others at a later date. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. You’re an INFP! That’s so awesome! INFPs and INFJs are supposed to be really similar to each other. And just a random fact, Luna Lovegood for Harry Potter is supposed to be an INFP. She’s one of my favorite characters. πŸ™‚
      Haha…definitely described you with the author/blogging part. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Oh my goodness! I would love if she had her own book! It would be fun to see her side of the Harry Potter stories. I’d love to hear it told in her voice.

        Like

      2. Yeah, I was kind of disappointed when she wasn’t in the movie adaptation as much as I thought she would. She was in the books a little more. Of course I know they can’t squeeze everything into the movies that they do in the books.

        Like

      3. Yeah, I know. The actress was really good. I heard she was a Luna fan that was otherwise a nobody but somehow convinced them she’d be an amazing Luna or knew her best or something like that.

        Like

  3. I’m going to be a renegade and answer all the questions right here! he he he

    I am also an INFJ! Woot! We rock socks.

    I was born an aquarius, but because that new [silly] zodiac that shifted everything, supposedly now I’m a capricorn? Methinks not.

    I’m so glad the Hogwarts question was a quiz because I regrettably have never seen any of the Harry Potters. I’d understand if you’d like to ban ME from your blog :-p Here are my results…hopefully you’ll know what they mean lol:
    Gryffindor – 11
    Hufflepuff – 11
    Ravenclaw – 11
    Slytherin – 9

    My learning style is most definitely aural, although reading & writing plays a huge in it too. I remember in 8th grade, I took Japanese. It was one of those pass/fail classes, and I kept missing one or two questions on the test which means I was really failing because you either got a 100 or a 0. It came down to the last test…last chance to pass the test. I practiced the Kanji by drawing the figures and saying what it meant as I drew, and did it over and over again. I made a 100 on the next test, and the teacher was impressed. πŸ˜€

    Are you more of a left-brain or a right brain kind of person?
    I’m balanced! I always suspected I was, but I never had any proof until now LOL. There are aspects of left & right brain-ness that I have always identified with, and I’ve never been able to choose. I wonder what that really means. Now I’m curious to see if I’m divergent or not, he he he.

    I actually don’t know what my blood type is. My dad says it’s O because his is O, and he says that children have their father’s blood. Not sure if that’s true or not lol.

    What career are you meant to be in?
    WRITER! WOOT!

    Which divergent fraction do you belong in?
    Ooooh, I’m Erudite! Does that mean I’m evil? LOL, nah, I’m not down with this…I’m not that smart. Although, I am very curious. This one says I’m divergent πŸ™‚
    http://www.playbuzz.com/reinam10/aptitude-test-which-faction-do-you-belong-in

    What is your birth order?
    I’m the oldest!

    This was fun! Thanks for inviting me πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I found another INFJ! Woohoo! No wonder we hit it off so well. πŸ™‚ And your and oldest too! AND your Harry Potter house results were similar to mine. Oh yeah, and you got writer too (I knew you would). We are kindred spirits. lol.
      Well, I could ban you…but I couldn’t do that to a fellow INFJ. We’re just to rare to ban. (I guess that means you can’t ban me either). πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for doing this! I loved reading your answers!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Megan,

    What is your Myers Briggs personality type? I get a different answer every time I take it.

    What is your zodiac sign? Pisces, no surprise there.

    What Hogwarts house would you be in? Grif or Huff probably depends on the day of the week.

    What are your learning styles? Aural/kinesthetic

    Are you more of a left-brain or a right brain kind of person?
    I get different results on this one every time. It depends on the day.

    What is your blood type? O

    What career are you meant to be in? Writer though I’d make a fantastic motivational speaker I’m told.

    Which divergent fraction do you belong in? Divergent, I don’t need a quiz to confirm that.

    What is your birth order? eldest of three sibs.

    Thanks for inviting me. You wrote up a humorous and fun post. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Seems like a lot of your answers change depending on the day…hmm…you’re not like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde are you? πŸ™‚
      Yeah! You’re an O blood type too. Did you think the description of that blood type described you at all? Or was it way off?
      So you would make a perfect motivational speaker for writers. We could use one of those! πŸ™‚
      So, you’re an eldest too huh? You know the struggle! Just kidding. I like being the eldest. There seems to be a lot of eldests that have blogs. I wonder if it’s related somehow…?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I’m a pisces; we’re a changeable lot. We roll with life’s punches and my answers depend on what I’m doing or feeling at the time and that throws off the test πŸ™‚ I thought the description for O was so general that it could fit anyone and since most people are O, that makes sense. I don’t put much stock in personality tests or zodiac signs for that reason. My goal driven nature is very contrary to the typical pisces. πŸ˜‰ Yes I know the struggle; the good news is your sibs eventually get their lives and call their moms a lot freeing you up to run a blog πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Megan, hi, and here we are:

    Who Are You?β€”a Challenge from the Invisible World


    I hope it’s all right. I don’t want to end up on the wrong side of an Aries who’s an oldest child.
    I’m sorry I can’t join the INFP army, as I’m off by one letter (weak on the scale, as it is). But I’ll be glad to hand you ammunition and wrap up your wounds. Though I’m sure in your campaign that no one will be hurt.
    Thanks for posting your responses first. I like what I learn about you–and how I learn through your winning, winsome craft.
    The story starts in three? Hooray!
    Thanks for everything!–Christopher

    Like

    1. Haha…I’ll try to contain my Aries side. πŸ™‚ I guess I’ll still talk to you, even if you aren’t an INFJ. πŸ™‚
      I know! I can’t believe it’s here already! This is so exciting! And a little terrifying because I don’t have the last 7 chapters finished….but don’t tell anyone.
      Alright, now I’m off to read your post!

      Like

  6. OOH QUIZZES I LIKE. Definitely a way for me to procrastinate the hours away in a way I love. Seriously though, this tage is so fun, I’m typing up this post the moment I figure out the answers to them (I have no idea about my blood type though…doctors terrify me. Even if they’re kindly looking and mean the best. idk. It’s the hospital smell I think. BUT I DIGRESS). I loved your answers πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. I know! I love quizzes! (so maybe this post was just an excuse to take a bunch of quizzes, but don’t tell anyone). πŸ˜‰
      Don’t worry about the blood type one. I’m not a big fan of hospitals either. I’m that person that only goes to the doctor if I’m like half dead or something. πŸ™‚
      And thank you!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hey Megan. Thanks so much(again!)! I’ll be sure to get on writing(and taking personality quizzes, just for the fun of it lol!), although I’ve been really busy with school. :/ But you can rest assured that I will get the post rolling soon.😊 Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    For the King,
    Jazzy

    P.S. I LOVE PERSONALITY QUIZZES. That is the best way to burn time, besides eating of course (no one listen to my little voice–I’m a bad example–hehehe^_^).

    One time I spent a whole afternoon taking a ton with my siblings and friends. It was so much fun! What are you favorite kinds of quizzes? Names, future jobs, Zodiac sign, number of kids (I took that one and I got 13 or 15!)?

    Like

    1. So, I’m just now seeing the “P.S” part of your comment. For some reason it didn’t show up in the comment reader. 😦
      So I guess I’ll respond now. (better late than never right?)
      I eat when I’m bored too. Or when I don’t want to do something and I need an excuse not to. I’m like, “Hmm…I think I’m hungry,” even though I just ate. πŸ™‚
      Personality quizzes are so fun! I’m not sure which is my favorite. I love them all! I like the ones that tell you which character you are most like in a film or book. Like “Which Middle Earth Character Are You?” (I got Gandalf)
      Whoa! That’s a lot of kids! lol. I got 1-3 kids.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! Nope, actually you’re too late to reply. Good day.

        *walking away*

        Hehehe, just kidding. ;P
        Yes! FOOD!!!
        I love those ones too, especially when I get the character I LOVE! #bestfeelingever
        IKR, I’m scared now! But, I do want to adoptβ€” so, that’s exciting, although I’m only a Sophomore. lol ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes! I love getting awesome characters. Suddenly my life has meaning! πŸ˜€
        Maybe you’ll just adopt a whole orphanage. lol I’ve always thought that I would adopt too. There’s so many kids out there that need a family.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. *sigh*

    Yes! I finally did it. I took the quizzes! πŸ™‚ It took me long enough, but I’m a proud INFJ, third born, with a left-side dominant brain. I’m about to write a post on this challenge, with all my answsers. πŸ™‚ this was a fun challenge, Megan, Thanks! πŸ™‚

    Jazzy

    Liked by 1 person

      1. So I read it! πŸ™‚
        I’m going to leave my comment here instead of on your blog because I’m too lazy to log into something else when I’m already logged into wordpress. πŸ˜‰
        It was such a fun read! I like that you opened the challenge to your readers. Keep the fun going! Ender’s Game is great. I don’t blame you for wanting to be a third-born like him. πŸ™‚ Thanks for doing the challenge!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh good! I get to read another one. πŸ™‚ I’ve had so much fun reading about everyone, and I thought it was over. But (surprise!) there’s one more. I’m headed over to read it right now.

      Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you!