New Year, New Idea

The beginning of the year is a time to reflect on what you want to do differently than the previous year. A new year is a new beginning. A chance to experiment with new things and ideas.

I couldn’t let this opportunity to try something new pass, so I sat down and thought about what I could do differently on this blog.

Last year at this time I started the choose-your-own-adventure story, The Hashna Stone. That has definitely been a highlight on the blog. It was fun, different, and had a way for all of you to interact.

I want to do something similar to that this year.

Obviously, I can’t write another choose-your-own-adventure because I’m busy turning The Hashna Stone into a book. But I could do something just as fun and different and do it in a way that you all could be involved.

So here’s the idea.

Image result for ah ha moment gif

Every week, I’ll post a a prompt. Then all of you get to use your epic imaginations and put out a post on your blog that has something to do with the prompt. It could be a flash fiction piece, but it doesn’t have to be a story. You do whatever fits your blog. It could be a poem or photograph inspired by the prompt.

Say the prompt for the week is polka dot socks.

One person might write a story about a girl who wore her polka dot socks everywhere for good luck.

Another might write a poem declaring their deep love for polka dot socks.

Another person may snap an artsy photograph of polka dot socks.

ANYTHING having to do with polka dot socks counts. πŸ™‚

Image result for socks meme

(Ok, so I couldn’t find a meme about polka dot socks…)

Once you have posted your prompt-inspired group of words or photo, you leave a link to that post in the comments. Then I will put the link to your post in my next post so everyone can check out all the different responses. And your blog gets some publicity. πŸ˜‰

You get a free prompt to help with those weeks you just can’t think of anything to write, and it’s a great way to get people to your blog and check out new ones. It’s a win-win!

Taking a break from blogging and still want to participate? No problem. You can join in on the fun on Twitter. If you tweet something inspired by the prompt I give out and use my twitter handle (@meganbedwel) then I will retweet you.

I’ll join in and write my own blog post (and tweets) from the prompt.

I’m getting excited just thinking about it! It’s about time we had something fresh and fun around here. πŸ˜‰

Tell me what you think of the idea!

*Update: I already have some prompts and even this cool prompt page.

Twitter_bird_iconThis little blue bird will take you to my Twitter page where it will continuously feed you random lines about writing, blogging, and the world inside my head.

17 thoughts on “New Year, New Idea

  1. Lovely idea, Megan! I was thinking I should get back to posting more fiction on my blog for my Friday posts and the prompts will be of immense help. πŸ™‚
    Happy new year and have a great 2017! πŸ™‚

    Like

I love hearing from you!

