Using Patreon to Write a Book

So, I’ve announced that I am publishing a book (Yay!) and I’ve announced that the book will be The Hashna Stone (Yay again!).

I also announced that I live with trolls and am a few steps away from living under a bridge, so I can’t afford a fancy smancy cover and a snoody editorial service.

But that’s ok, because I found this place. A place where dreams come true.

No, I’m not talking about Disney World. (I wish I were…can we all go there right now? A big party for the Epic Dreamers?)

I’m talking about Patreon. It’s a place for artists and creative types to get funding for their projects.

Ok, so you know two things: I’m publishing and I’m using Patreon to make it happen.

What does this mean for you?

This means that you get a chance to make stuff happen (“stuff” in this case being an awesome book).

Maybe you don’t have the time to write a book. Maybe you don’t want to sit for hours alone talking to people who aren’t there and making maps of places that don’t exists. You don’t want your friends to haul you to the psych ward because you started talking about how you need to help Sheila find her grandmother’s missing heirloom, and when they asked who Sheila was you were like, “Oh yeah. I forgot. She isn’t real.” (Trust me, you don’t want that to happen…not that I have experience or anything.)

Well you don’t have to worry about the time or the emotional scars left from a psych ward, because I’ll do all that for you! Yes, I will go to the crazy house for you!

While I’m receiving all these emotional scars, you can be basking in the knowledge that you made some awesome stuff happen. You created a book.

And what could be more amazing than that?

Except maybe this.

 

Focus, Megan. Focus.

I wrote this post to explain how Patreon works and what becoming my patron actually means, and no amount of ADD or emotional scars from friends who don’t understand the creative mind is going to get in my way.

*deep breath*

Ok, here it goes.

What is Patreon?

This is how they explain it.

Patreon is a way to join your favorite creator’s community and pay them for making the stuff you love. Instead of literally    throwing money at your screen (trust us, that doesn’t work), you can now give a few bucks and you become a bonafide, real-life patron of the arts.  That’s right–Imagine you, in a long frilly white wig, painted on a 10-foot canvas on the wall of a Victorian mansion.  And imagine your favorite creators making a living doing what they do best… because of you.

Or in my case, I won’t be making a living, just making a book for you guys.

 

What does becoming your patron mean?

It means you are only the most awesome person in the world! 😉 But in more technical terms, it means that you pledged a certain amount of money per book I write.

 

Whoa. Hold on a minute. Per book? Just how many are there?!

Don’t worry. I’m not going to slam you with 50 books all of a sudden (though how cool would it be if I wrote 50 books?). The plan is two books: a re-do of The Hashna Stone and then if all goes well with that, Samel’s story. If I’m really enjoying myself and decide to consider another book, I will let you know though Patreon so you have a chance to withdraw your pledge or continue supporting. I’m not going to sneak a book three on you without letting you know! (For real, that’s just rude.)

 

Ok, I want to be your patron. How much money am I giving?

That is up to you.

There are three options: $1, $10, or $15 per book.

 

So, I’m your patron. Do I get a prize or something?

Yes!

Besides the great feeling you’ll get from knowing that you made a book, you’ll get access to special patron-only posts, have your name mentioned on my blog, and get your name listed in the book itself depending on the pledge you choose. More details here.

 

This is great and all, but what if you only publish one book? Or none? What happens to that precious money I pledged?

Actually, it never left you. You don’t get charged until I produce a book. That’s fair and reasonable right?

If I decide to abandon the second book, your money stays with you.

If I get writer’s block the size of the Wall of China and can’t finish the first book, your money stays with you.

You never have to worry about money evaporating into space. There will ALWAYS be an actual thing created before funds start flowing toward it. Also, I broke my evaporating machine.

There. I did it. And I didn’t even get distracted by…Oh, look. There goes Sheila. 😉

 

patreon-medium-button

or you can just go and look at the page…I won’t judge. 😛

 

11 thoughts on “Using Patreon to Write a Book

  1. Should I ever have a job again (my school just closed), I’ll patronize with money. For now, I’ll have to patronize with affirmation and clever repartee, when you might wish either. Good luck, Megan! I’ll keep reading and responding.

    Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you!

