I’m Publishing a Book!

I just had the greatest idea and had to share it will all you Epic Dreamers!

No, it’s not a vacation to the Bahamas (though I could go with that idea right about now).

I’ve decided to publish a book!

Is that the greatest idea or what? I know you all are super excited and just as pumped as I am!

 

Or not.

Ok, so I know what you’re thinking. How are you going to get your book published? Do you have any idea how much it costs to self publish?

You have to pay for the cover: at least $60 to $100 depending on how professional you want to get.

You have to pay for someone to edit that mess you wrote, because no one is going to understand that pile of words you threw together. Who knows how expensive that could get considering most editorial services charge by page. Maybe another $100?

How is your skinny little writer behind going to pay for all that? Huh? Did you think of that in your “greatest idea that you had to share with us”?

First, I’d like to say, thank you readers for your concern about my financial state (or financial despair). It truly is touching to know that you care for my skinny little writer behind and don’t want me to destroy my financial utopia (utopia being five steps away from living with some trolls under a bridge…oh wait, I do live with trolls 😛 )

Second, I’d like to say…

I did think of how to pay for all that in my greatest idea ever! I have it all planned out thank you very much. So there, naysayers! Don’t mess with my dream or I’ll hit you with my frying pan.

tangled Rapunzel Dream

I mean…uh…thank you for your concern, but I have this worked out and under control. *nods head politely*

Before I get into the second part of my greatest idea, let me explain just what it is that I will be publishing.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve missed all those characters in The Hashna Stone. The blog just isn’t the same without all their clamor and Samel’s silliness.

So I decided to bring them back.

That’s right, go ahead and read over that line again. It says what you think it does.

There are two ways I can do this.

I can either go over The Hashna Stone chapters that you helped decided and turn them into an actual book: rewriting the endings so they wrap up like real chapters and not questions for a choose-your-own-adventure story and add some scenes and chapters.

Or I can write a story from Samel’s view point. It will start out in Hashna before Dalan and the rest come, go through the little matter of taking the stone back to the king, and then end back in Hashna. It would be a chance to explore Samel’s world a bit and see what he was thinking during his little expedition in the human world (he is a dwarf for those who haven’t read it).

Either one will be fun, so I’ll leave it up to you to decide which one you want. (Click to get your vote in)

Now that you know what I’m publishing, here’s the second part of my greatest idea.

I may not be able to afforded a cover the cover or editing service, but I’m not alone in this.

Nothing worthwhile is accomplished alone.

Did Thomas Edison create the light bulb on his own? No, he had a team that helped him discover new things.

If I asked who created the first airplane, you wouldn’t say “a Wright brother” because there were two of them, a team (and a Wright brother sounds ridiculous, but kindly ignore that fact).

Heck, even troll bridges have to be built with a team. You don’t think those trolls do it alone do you?

Even Rapunzel needed some help to achieve her dream.

(I guess it would be difficult to achieve your dream with all that hair ;P )

My point is, big ideas and dreams only get so far if you’re alone. But with some support the world can be lit by light bulbs, the sky peppered with planes, and the rivers overshadowed by troll bridges.

The possibilities are endless!

Now, I know what you’re all thinking (yes, again…I can read minds). Creating a light bulb takes a lot of time. Building a plane is a lot of work. And troll bridges? I’m not a troll.

Don’t fret dear worried reader. I’ll be the one putting all the time and work into making this book happen. And I won’t require you become a troll to join my team.

I’ve found a much easier way for you to be a part of this epic book. 🙂

There is a wonderful place out there in internet land, called Patreon. In this magical land, dreams become reality, projects launch into the stars, and the possibilities are endless.

Patreon-logo

I have created a home for myself in this land of dreams. How could I resist? (Don’t judge. You would create a home in internet land if you lived with trolls.)

On Patreon, you can choose to support me and my book project with a simple pledge of your choice. (And get rewarded!)

Since I don’t know which story I’ll be writing yet–book version of The Hashna Stone or Samel’s story–I’m not sure just how much I’ll need for the editing, but right now I’m setting my goal at $75 which will get us a good quality book cover.

If I get enough pledges to reach $75, then I will for sure, no doubt about it, be publishing the book.

What will happen to that money you pledged if we don’t reach our goal and the book isn’t published? Actually, your money never left you. The great thing about Patreon is, it won’t charge you until I actually present the product (book).

If you’re running low on funds, no problem. You don’t have to pledge your next meal away! 😉 Just $1 will be super helpful.

I have a few hundred followers. It wouldn’t even take all of you to toss a dollar in, and my goal would be met just like that.

We can make this happen!

Live under a bridge with stingy troll that won’t let you get your hands on a dollar? You can still help! Spread the word about this book project to your troll-free friends (Twitter is a great way to share). 😀

I can’t wait to get started on this! You have all been the best supports. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: this blog wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for you. I’ve accomplished this dream because of you, now lets push the limits a bit and see what else we can accomplish together!

 

 

Twitter_bird_iconThis little blue bird will take you to my Twitter page where it will continuously feed you random lines about writing, blogging, and the world inside my head.

 

8 thoughts on “I’m Publishing a Book!

I love hearing from you!

