Our Journey Comes to an End

I can’t believe it’s over! I’m feeling kind of nostalgic already.

Yesterday, I posted the last chapter of The Hashna Stone. It’s been a long and memorable journey and I wanted to thank you all for being a part of it. It wouldn’t have been the same without you! 🙂

I had so much fun writing this story, but like all stories, they can be a pain at times. There were a few people who help lessen that “pain” part of writing a story and I’d like to give them a huge thank you.

First off, I’d like to thank Joy Pixley for being a fantastic NaNoWriMo buddy, which is when I wrote the draft for The Hashna Stone. Her encouraging emails kept me writing and it was nice to have someone to be accountable to. Thanks for being my NaNo partner Joy!

Next, I’d like to thank clcouch123. He has been the biggest supporter of the Hashna Stone. Seriously, he commented on every chapter (and no I didn’t bribe him :P). And I don’t mean he typed something nondescript like, “This is good.” He had something insightful and encouraging to say about every chapter. That is dedication! 🙂 So, thanks clcouch123 for giving me something to look forward to after posting each chapter.

Last, but most certainly not least, is Nandini. She was nice enough to point out a few mistakes in the first two or three chapters I posted, and even nicer to offer to proofread the chapters before I posted them. Nandini took the time to read over every single chapter of this ongoing adventure (even reading on here vacation and through exam week…she’s a trooper!). She made sure that all the funky grammar mistakes that made it past my foggy writer’s brain, didn’t make it into the final draft of the chapter. So, you can thank Nandini for a much better experience of The Hashna Stone than I could have given you on my own. Thank you Nandini for patching up my story! 🙂

Now that I’m done saying my part, you guys get a chance to speak. I’d love to know what you thought of the story. What was your favorite part? Who was your favorite character? Comment and tell me your thoughts!

Missed some chapters? No problem! They’re all at the Hashna Stone Page .

Twitter_bird_iconThis little blue bird will take you to my Twitter page where it will continuously feed you random lines about writing, blogging, and the world inside my head.

8 thoughts on “Our Journey Comes to an End

  1. It was a pleasure, Megan. 🙂 I loved the fact that I got to read the chapters before everyone else. There’s no bigger motivation than that. 😉
    I really loved how the story and the characters developed. The twists were good and kept me hooked on to the story. The characters were believable and lovable. It wasn’t very complex with 100+ subplots and 200+ characters, but I’m relieved to have read a fantasy series that’s simple with good writing.
    My favourite character (obviously) was Samel. He provided the comic relief and was also important to the story. It’d sure be sad if he had been left behind in Hashna.
    I’d love to see more stories from this world. Hints of other races are there in the story and I’d like to get to know the conflicts and friendships between them better. I’d also like to know more about the magic system and what all the dwarves can do with it. I truly hope to get lost in the world again and again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww…thanks! I love Samel too. He’s such a cheeky, fun-loving guy it’s hard to resist! And it would have been terrible if he hadn’t come along with them. Not only would we be missing his silly antics, but the Hashna Stone would still be around Ryker’s neck. (Oh, and I started writing a bit in Samel’s viewpoint, so we’ll see where that goes 🙂 ).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wait, I wasn’t bribed? (I wasn’t!)

    So sorry that the story’s over. When’s the next one? I don’t really mean to be whiny. This was such a treat to read. In a good (not whiny) way, I look forward to future work. There’s such talent and story-craft to share.

    My favorite character is Faiza. She is strong, an advocate, skilled, and active. Everything she says, friendly or deadly, sounds like a pledge to follow up the words with deeds. I suppose this means I enjoyed the parts best that depicted forest life. That’s early, and I did greatly enjoy the entire story. But life with Faiza and her charges is appealing as life in Sherwood (or Eriador) might be. Good-hearted, heroic persons to hang out with. Certainly, one such person is Faiza.

    I did (d0) think that the parts underneath the castle went extremely successfully. There was good tension created and satisfying responses each step of the way. The celebration at the end symbolizes happy resolutions all around. (We want more is all.)

    Thank you, Megan! Field trip to Minaria? Or Hashna–Hashna would be good. Your friend, Christopher

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shh…we agreed we wouldn’t tell anyone that you were bribed. Haha 😀 I don’t know when the next long one will be, but I’ll definitely be posting short stories. 🙂
      Faiza was a fun character to write because she is so full of fire and spunk. And while she may seem a little rough around the edges, she cares for those around her, especially the orphans under her care. She’s definitely not afraid to fight for the underdog!
      A field trip to Minaria sounds great! 😀
      Thanks for reading Christopher!

      Like

I love hearing from you!

