Some Blogging Advice

When you’re first starting a blog, it can be a little overwhelming. You wish you could sit down and talk to someone who’s been at it for a while and get some advice. Well, that’s exactly what I’m going to do. So, you’re welcome all you newbies. 😉

Before I get started, I’d like to thank domainofshane23 for nominating me for the Blogger Recognition Award. I’ve already done a post for this award, so I won’t do the whole thing, but since Shane was nice enough to nominate me, the least I could do was thank him and answer the questions. 🙂

My Blog’s origin

My blog didn’t come with a bang, an epiphany, an “ah ha” moment, or a light bulb zinging to life. It was more like a sneaky little incessant voice that kept creeping into my brain and whispering, “Start blogging.  Start blogging.  You want to do it.  You were born to do it.  It is your destiny.”

darth vader meme

Once I finally gave in to the dark side…I mean decided to start my blog, I thought I’d only be posting short stories. But as the blog progressed, I ended up posting limericks, acrostics, inspirational posts, and even a choose your own adventure.

And that brings me to tip number one.

 

Tip Number One

Don’t be afraid to let your blog change. It may not turn out quite the way you envisioned it, and that isn’t a bad thing. Blogs aren’t stagnate. They change and grow as you do. They morph into things you didn’t expect. But that’s the fun of it. Your theme could go in a direction you didn’t expect. Maybe you thought you’d only be giving tips about organizing  your house, but after a few months or year of blogging you find that you’ve posted a lot of DIY projects. Don’t weed them out and vow to never write another post about how to turn milk jugs into animal head taxidermy (Yes, that is a real DIY project). Embrace this new branch your blog has grown and add DIY projects to your blog’s definition.

Speaking of blog definition…

 

Tip Number Two

Before you start your blog, you have to define it.  Before you publish a single post, sit down and figure out what your blog’s purpose is. Is it there to help people with a specific problem? To teach people a skill? To entertain? Once you determine this, you can keep your posts on topic. People continue reading blogs because they know what to expect. If you started your blog to help people with a specific problem–say weight loss–then you would keep your posts to things like nutrition and exercise. You wouldn’t want to one day put out a post on harmonica playing, because that isn’t going to interest your readers. They followed you because they were interested in weight loss, not playing the harmonica.

As your blog grows,  you may add new way of presenting things, but you will still be achieving the same goal. For instance, my blog is here to entertain. When I first started out, I thought it would only be through short stories, but as I went, I discovered that I could add a few other ways, like poems and silly posts where I ramble on. 🙂 But the purpose of my blog hasn’t changed.

Well, that’s all of my blogging advice for today! If you want more, check out Blogger Award, Blogging Tips, and A Crazy Blogger.

5 thoughts on “Some Blogging Advice

    1. I’m sure it’s in there somewhere. I was actually surprised when I wrote a post and people commented that it was funny. I was like, “Hmm…I didn’t know I could do that.”
      You just might surprise yourself. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you!

