One Lovely Blog Award

 

One Lovely Blog image-2

Happy Monday everyone! I was nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award a few weeks ago, but because of Camp NaNo, I’m just now getting to the post.

As usual with award posts, the first order of business is to thank the person who nominated you, which would be Nandini from Pages That Rustle. So, thank you Nandini! Without you, I wouldn’t be posting right now because I’d be using the excuse that Camp NaNo has taken all my words and I couldn’t possibly write a blog post. My readers thank you for forcing me not to forget about them. 🙂

Now for seven facts about me (which is part of the rules).

 

I live in the south, but I’m not really into football.

If you live in the south (U.S.) or have even visited the south, you know that not being absolutely obsessed with football is the worst crime anyone could commit. Other than rooting for the team opposite the one the person you are talking to is going for. Then you better be prepared to defend team and your honor, because that other person has spent a lifetime coming up with insults for your team and anyone that roots for them.

I’ve just never been interested in watching men run around a yard chasing after a ball (hmm…described like that, it sounds the same as watching your pet dog 😛 ).

If I were ever forced to witness such a sporting event, I would most certainly be sure to wear my really large hat and strategically placed mole.

 

I didn’t like writing until I was about 12 years old.

I didn’t exactly hate writing, I just didn’t realize what wring could mean. Writing was something I did because I had to. It was a school assignment. But when I was 12, I found writing could be so much more than a book report. It could be a story. It meant using my imagination, creating events, playing in a new world. I’d always made stories in my head, but never thought about writing them until then. My first bit of writing that I did for myself and not for school was more of a fan fiction piece. I took an American Girl character, an American Indian named Kaya, and wrote my own little piece about her. It was then I realize all that daydreaming I did could make something.

 

I forget everything exists when I’m writing.

When I get in the writing zone, I completely forget the world exists. I forget I exist. I won’t realize that I’m stiff from sitting in one position, or that my throat is dry because I haven’t filled the water glass sitting beside me. When I finally emerge from the writing zone, I look something like this….

 

And it’s the same way with reading…

I probably won’t forget to eat while reading, but I can get so immersed in a story that I’m oblivious to what’s going on in the room.

 

I’m both really talkative and quiet.

I’m generally pretty quiet, but that doesn’t mean I don’t like to ham it up every now and then. I don’t talk a lot around people that I don’t know well, or if I’m tired, or if I don’t care about the subject of the conversation. But don’t be fooled by my seemingly quiet demeanor. I can be the silliest, craziest, most off-the-wall person ever. 🙂

I’m so sweet around people I’ve just met…
But I’m totally crazy when I get with my friends.

 

I get more excited than I should when I sit down to start a new book.

Seriously, you would think that book were a ticket to the Caribbean (or maybe it is). I get so happy when I get my hands on a new book, especially if it’s by an author I like.

I’m insanely happy about books!

 

I don’t want to grow up.

I want to stay a kid forever. Then I can daydream and play in my imaginary worlds forever! Can I just join Perter Pan in Neverland? Maybe I’ll form my own group: The Lost Girls. 😉

 

 

I’d like to nominate everyone reading this post right now. All of my readers have lovely blogs, right guys? 🙂 So leave a link in the comments to your post.

If you decide not to participate, no sweat. I won’t hold it against you. You can still leave a comment. 🙂

Oh, and here are the rules of the award.

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. List the rules and display the award.
  3. List 7 facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 others bloggers and notify them of their nomination. (Obviously I didn’t follow this one, so you can nominate people however you want to).

Alright, I’m off to work on my NaNo project!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. I’d totally join the Lost Girls! 😀
    I’m glad you found the time to do this. I enjoyed getting to know you better. 🙂
    I get the whole getting-lost-when-you’re-reading-or-writing thing. My mom gets pretty mad at me because I forget to drink water or develop a back ache due to my poor posture.
    I’m a wonderfully contradictory quiet and talkative person as well! My friends learnt that the hard way. 😉
    The pictures and GIFs added to the fun. I had a great time reading this post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! It’s just so easy to get lost when reading or writing. I love when that happens though. It means I got a lot of writing done. 🙂
      Another quiet yet talkative person! We must be soul sisters. lol. This is a difficult thing for new people I meet to get. They probably think I’m having mood swings or something. 🙂
      Thanks for reading and for nominating me!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Form The Lost Girls group. It’s needed.

    Another opportunity to get to know some more about you. You write with grace and humor. Which makes your work a nonstop pleasure to read.

    Living in the land of Penn State, I can appreciate the gridiron mania you have to deal with. Writing and reading can obliviate, can’t they? And isn’t that marvelous?

    Thanks for sharing (more), Megan!–Christopher

    Like

    1. Forming a Lost Girl group is now on my to-do list. 😉
      I’m glad you think so. Sometimes it seems choppy and corny while I’m writing it, but somehow by the end it isn’t so bad. And, heck, it might even turn out to be graceful and humorous every now and then. 🙂
      That’s the best thing about reading and writing; they completely take you away on an adventure.

      Like

I love hearing from you!

