Real Magic

Bibbity bobbity boo never made a pumpkin into a coach

It doesn’t make a footman out of a mouse, horse, or roach

 

Seeds don’t grow magic bean stalks

That take you to a place where a giant walks

 

Gandalf’s staff can’t blast hundreds of orcs

You would have better luck fighting them with forks

 

Wave a wand in the air and expecto patronum, crucio, and leviosa don’t do a thing

And there wasn’t a bit of magic in Frodo’s all-powerful ring

 

Real magic starts with a word

To think anything else is absurd

 

Words are planted in our mind

Where they spin, swirl, and wind

 

Until they become emotions and images

Connecting you with a place through word-built bridges

 

The world you find yourself in is fantastical

The people you meet are brave, clever, and magical

 

Without the union between words and what your mind imagines

Magic would be as real as dragons

 

Magic doesn’t come from staffs, wands, or rings

Magic comes from imaginings

 


I hope you all enjoyed the first poem of the week! I had tons of fun writing this, and I can’t wait to write more.

Speaking of magic…

If you like magic and fantasy, I have an awesome surprise for you. 🙂

It’s a blog version of a choose your own adventure with magic, dwarfs, and mysterious jewelry…because what fantasy would be complete without mysterious jewelry (am I right J.R.R Tolkien)?

Find out how you can join  The Hashna Stone

 

 

29 thoughts on “Real Magic

  1. I really loved your take on “magic”…I usually write rhyming poetry, so I appreciate a good turn of phrase, meter and rhyme. Yours was very creative!
    Keep it up.

    Like

      1. Of course. You write really well; a bit nervous since I haven’t written poetry before. Never even saw myself doing a course like this.

        Like

      2. I really don’t know anything about poetry either. I’m just trying things out and hoping they sound good. 🙂 So you’re in good company. We’re all here to learn!

        Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you!

