Behind The Scenes Part II

As promised, here is the second half of questions from the Behind The Scenes tag.

Is there a special ritual you have before or after you write?

Pull out my inner drill sergeant and give myself a good chewing out for procrastination this long.  😉

This can be really useful, but if the whole yelling drill sergeant thing gets too annoying I turn on my writing playlist to drown it out.  🙂

Hmm….maybe I’ll replace the drill sergeant with Sherlock.

Yep.  That’s much better.  🙂

 

What do you do to get into the mood to write?

Looking at memes of Sherlock works really well. 😉

Really though, I don’t do anything right before writing to get me in the mood.  Waiting for the mysterious writing mood to strike, is like waiting to be bitten by a wigged-out spider so you can shoot webs out of your hands and wear blue and red spandex.

Listening to movie soundtracks is helpful, but after doing that everyday, sometimes even they fail to get me in the mood.  Sometimes, you just have to make yourself write, no matter how you feel.  (I guess that drill sergeant does come in handy).

 

What is always near the place you write?

I have this saying I have on my corkboard above my computer:  “Create an atmosphere in which miracles can happen.”

To explain that quote, let me tell a little story.

Death Valley is, well, dead.  (And I call myself a writer? What kind of opening line was that?!)  You’re not going to see a tropical rainforest or a garden of tulips.  But out of nowhere, some rare winter storms showed up and dropped 6 inches of rain on this thirsty desert causing flowers to spring up.  Flowers…in the desert?!  It’s something that only happens once in a lifetime.  Kind of like a miracle.

But wait!  What if the rain, the “miracle,” had come and there weren’t any seeds in the ground?  I mean, this is a desert.  Why put seeds in the ground?

Because you never know when a miracle might just drop by.

Getting published is as miraculous as flowers in the desert, but that doesn’t mean it’s impossible.  Just because it is a rare event doesn’t mean that I should stop “planting seeds.”

The quote above reminds me that a miraculous shower of rain may fall on my life, but if I haven’t put in the work to plant the seeds, there will be nothing that grows.

Every time I see that quote I think,  “Put in the work, and maybe someday, something amazing will happen.”

And that, is way more motivation than a drill sergeant.

 

Do you have a reward system for your word count?

I don’t have a reward system in place.  Knowing that I’ve completed my word count goal for the day is enough for me.  I just do a little dance inside and get a huge grin on my face and call it a night.

(Notice I kept that answer short to make up for the last one. 😀 )

Is there anything about your writing process others might not know about?

Until now, you probably didn’t know anything about my writing process, so I think I already answered this question.  😛

I apologize Ms. Poppins.  Terribly sorry, I am. *Flakey British accent*

——

Missed the first half?  Here it is.  Behind the Scenes Part I

 

16 thoughts on “Behind The Scenes Part II

  1. Love the idea of planting seeds to get published! I feel like many writers get discouraged that nothing will come of their work so they don’t try. But the process of writing in itself is healing. And you never know when you will create that golden nugget of a story!

    Like

    1. Writing is very healing. I find it to be one of the most therapeutic things I can do. Well, unless my plot is giving me trouble and my characters aren’t cooperating. 😀
      But you’re right–we never know when we might create that amazing story!

      Like

  2. Loved your Drill sergent Sherlock 😀
    Maybe I will borrow him for days when I have a dispute with myself on whether I should continue writing.
    And you are so right about music. It gets the neurons to fire but then anything done on a regular basis sometimes becomes too mundane.

    Like

    1. I love my music! But, like you said, doing it too oftain will make it mundane, so I make sure only to listen to it when I’m writing stories (not blog posts or while I’m surfing the web). That way when I hear that music my brain goes “Ok it’s time to write!”
      Feel free to borrow him any time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sherlock, Death Valley, desert flowers, the Hallelujah squirrel. You have some wonderful touchstones here. It’s great to have a writing mood you can look forward to. I don’t think I’d find it for myself. I simply write and wait for something to happen. Something I write that I wouldn’t sharing with someone else. Thank you for writing about your process!

    Like

    1. It’s going good. I’ve gone back over the first 14 chapters already. Or at least potential chapters since I’m going to post this on my blog as a choose your own adventure story. It’s a little nerve racking to know that I’m about to share something that isn’t fully written. We’ll see how it goes!
      How’s your novel coming along?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have nor touched it. Honestly, I need a set of new eyes on the novel.

        I was going to ask you if you would like to help me. I would love to read yours irrespective of whether you read mine or not

        Like

      2. I would love to help and definitely wouldn’t mind having someone look over my work before I post it, but I know I won’t have time to read a full novel. What it we did something like a 20 page trade off? I’ll read your first 20 pages and you read mine.

        Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you!

