Completing NaNoWriMo

Winner-2014-Web-Banner

I have emerged from my NaNoWriMo cave alive and unscathed (well almost unscathed).  I did it!  I wrote 2,000 words a day every day for a month.  I couldn’t be more pumped! Not everyone can say that they wrote 50,000 words in one month.  It is a challenge, but the amazing feeling of accomplishment that comes from completing NaNoWriMo is definitely worth the work.

Going into this, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do it or not.  Let’s face it; even if you’re a book worm who loves writing, committing to 50,000 words in a month is daunting.  To add to the word count insecurities, the story I chose write last month was something that I’d bounced around in my head only weeks before NaNoWriMo began.  I wasn’t sure if it was something I’d stay interested in enough to stick with for the whole month, and I didn’t know if there was even enough there for me to write a book’s about of words.  For all I knew, I could get to the end of the story and still have 10,000 more words to go.

I pushed my doubts aside, and decided that it didn’t matter if I reached the 50,000 word goal or not.  It didn’t even matter if I reached the end of the story by the end of the month. All that mattered was that I wrote.  That’s the whole point right?  As long as I used NaNoWriMo to push me to spend more time writing than I normally would have I would be happy.  Trying was all that mattered.

It was a good thing that I decided to try because it turned out that there was enough to the story for 50,000 words.  Was it easy? No.  Is what I wrote perfect?  Definitely not.  Will these 50,000 words turn into a book that millions will read?  Truth is, I may be the only person to read it.  None of that matters.  I stand by my original opinion.  NaNoWriMo isn’t about the amount of words written or the badges or even if anyone reads what was written in those grueling weeks of forced confinement.

What matters is that I proved to myself that I could write.  I showed myself what I could do with focused determination.  When I was busy, I wrote.  When I was tired, I wrote.  When I didn’t want to write, I wrote.  Isn’t that what NaNoWriMo is all about?  Forcing us to push all the excuses aside and just write.

So, to all you fellow NaNoWriMoers (I think I made that word up) out there, whether you wrote 10,000 or 90,000 you win.  You win because you pushed yourself to write an amount that was out of your comfort zone.   And that makes you a better writer.

6 thoughts on “Completing NaNoWriMo

    1. I understand the feeling. Writing that much in a month can be daunting! I was so glad I did it because it forced me to really push myself. Writing roughly 2,000 words a day was something I’d never committed to before. It was a lot of work, but at the end, it was amazing to look at how much I did in just a month.

      Like

  1. You won the whole competition? Wow, cool! Congrats. (Albeit, I wasn’t aware of NaNoWriMo before I started reading your blog a while ago :D)
    Uhm.. Anywhere I could read or get a glimpse of what you wrote?

    Like

I love hearing from you!

