Writing a Novel in a Month

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

November is here and with it comes, not only colder weather and thoughts of Thanksgiving, but NaNoWriMo. This very strange looking group of letters stands for National Novel Writing Month. Participants challenge themselves to write 50,000 words before 11:59 on November 30th.   That’s 1,667 words a day every day in November (and no, we don’t get a Thanksgiving break).

I’m not sure who invented this crazy challenge of writing a whole novel in a month, but I’m crazy enough to join hundreds of other writers in a month of word writing frenzy.  Goodbye friends, goodbye family, goodbye real conversations with real people.  Hello friends in my head.  You are going to be my only companions on this arduous journey to 50,000 words.

I’m not sure I’ll reach the word goal (darned homework…why can’t you leave me in peace!?) and I’m ok with that. I look at NaNoWriMo as excellent motivator.  No matter what my word count is at the end of the month, it will be longer than it would have been if I had never tried.  I’m not even sure if this story I have in my head, Incessant, is long enough for a novel.  I’m not going to worry about it.  I’m just going to write and see where my characters take me.

That doesn’t mean that I’m not going to push myself though, and with all this writing to do for NaNoWriNo, I’m not going to have time to write short stories for my blog. I’ve decided to turn my blog into a waste land for this month so I can pursue the unobtainable 50,000 words.  I won’t be posting anything in November, but I haven’t abandoned the blog.  I will be back in December!

Well, I guess that’s enough writing about NaNoWriMo. It’s time to do NaNoWriMo.  It any of you are participating I’d love to know!  I’d also love to add you as a writing buddy.  My user name is invisibleworld.

I’m off to write my first 1,667 words!

7 thoughts on “Writing a Novel in a Month

I love hearing from you!

